Overview – Med Tourism Awards

Overview – Mediterranean Tourism Awards

The Mediterranean Tourism Awards

The Mediterranean Tourism Awards, created in 2014, are the flagship awards for the Mediterranean tourism sector. Every year, they are conferred by the MTF to highlight and showcase innovation and application of knowledge in Mediterranean tourism.

In doing so, the Mediterranean Tourism Awards seek to recognise and stimulate knowledge creation, dissemination and innovative applications in tourism and to bring to light the latest advances in the area. This has a transversal effect on governance and society at large.

The awarded projects are in line with policies, priorities and programme of work of MTF. Indeed, they represent some of the best examples of tourism leaders from around the Mediterranean region that through their exceptional initiatives have placed themselves at the forefront of the sector.

Recognition is given in the following categories:

  • The Mediterranean Tourism AKDENIZ Prize is given to a distinguished scholar, whether in academia, government or private industry, for outstanding contributions to the promotion of Mediterranean culture, heritage and environment.
  • The Mediterranean Tourism MARE NOSTRUM Lifetime Achievement Prize is conferred to recognize a lifetime achievement of individuals with visionary leadership and significant contribution throughout the nominee’s careers as an inspirational role model for the development of Mediterranean travel and tourism at the local, national, regional or international level.
  • The Mediterranean Tourism Great Sea Awards for merit distinction in four categories for the significant contributions of innovative tourism initiatives which are both competitive and sustainable in their character.
    • MT Award for Innovation in Public Policy and Governance
    • MT Award for Distinction in People Management
    • MT Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organisations
    • MT Award for Innovation in Marketing and Technology
    • MT Award for Innovation in Training and Education
    • MT Award for Innovation in Product Development